Welcome to Cook Islands Canoeing Association

Matson Vaka Eiva 2018
23 November - 30 November

All age divisions
from across the globe

Kia Orana & Welcome to Canoeing in the Cook Islands

Cook Islands Canoeing Association (CICA) is the governing body for outrigger canoeing (Vaka) and Kayak in the Cook Islands. We host not only the National Calendar races and events, but also the world-renowned week long International Matson Vaka Eiva Festival held every November.  The Cook Islands are also a destination on the International circuit of Te Aito – the worlds premier elite V1 racing event.

Matson Vaka Eiva 2018 Update

2018 Dates - 23rd to 30th November

         Matson Vaka Eiva 2018 Program Available Soon

              2018 MATSON VAKA EIVA PROGRAM

 Click the button below to register your Crew now for 2018

Meitaki Maata

Vaka Eiva proudly sponsored by Matson

Please visit our valued Vaka Eiva sponsors website by clicking on their logo

Please click Sponsor’s page to see our sponsors for each event

Upcoming events

Matson Vaka Eiva

Vaka Eiva is arguably the biggest event on the Cook Islands sporting calendar and the inclusion of paddlers from right across the sunny Pacific region, cold snowy regions of Canada and Europe is testament to the events prestigious status. Avarua harbour will be paddling central for the weeklong paddling festival where oe vaka supporters can […]

BSP Vaka Iti

2017 BSP Vaka Iti Schools 7 week Program & Regatta began on Monday 27th February with weekly coaching session for up to 270 students from 5 schools on Rarotonga and 1 school in Aitutaki. This years BSP Vaka Iti Regatta day is on Monday 10th April at Nikao Lagoon in front of Vaiana’s CICA is very […]

Te Aito Cook Islands

Te Aito is the Pacific’s supreme long distance event for individual V1 rudderless outrigger canoe racing. Each year Te Aito events are held throughout the region and since joining the international Te Aito circuit franchise in 2011 alongside Tahiti, Aotearoa, Noumea, and Australia, we have had elite international competitors from these countries visit the Cook […]

Are you ready to be part of our events?

Contact us now to register your team
Register Now

Meet our Clubs


Ngakau Toa Vaka

Club President- Vaea Melvin
Vice Presidents – Fletcher Melvin  &  Rodger Harkness
Secretary – Krissy Tatum
Treasurer- Julie Wilson

Te Tupu o te Manava

Club President- Sam Brown
Vice Presidents- Rob Grant
Secretary – Liz Sosene
Treasurer- Teina Taulu

Live Free

Club President- Lorena Maru
Vice Presidents – Teariki Puni
Secretary – Tania Wichman
Treasurer- Mami Nikoro

Aitutaki Oe Vaka

Club President- Junior Tamati
Vice Presidents – Janet Maki
Secretary – Terangi Tamati
Treasurer- Lani Simiona